Rg-militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Is Deutsche Jägerschaft 50-year Membership Badge real?

Article about: Hi all, this is my first post and I am an amateur collector. I've been trying to go through previous posts about Deutsche Jägerschaft 50-year Membership Badge and I keep reading that it is a

Default Is Deutsche Jägerschaft 50-year Membership Badge real?

Hi all, this is my first post and I am an amateur collector. I've been trying to go through previous posts about Deutsche Jägerschaft 50-year Membership Badge and I keep reading that it is a fantasy and is not real yet I keep coming across it on reputable seller websites. I was about to buy one until I researched a bit deeper. Any information would be of great help! Thank you, I feel safe knowing that I have such well informed members to guide me.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Is Deutsche Jägerschaft 50-year Membership Badge real?
    P
    Many

?

Welcome to the forum!

This type of badge is listed in Tieste 'bible' (p. 755), which suggests that it a period piece. I don't think its a '50 year membership badge' but a badge issued to mark the 50th anniversary of the Deutsche Jägerschaft Ostpreussen. As to the authenticity of the actual badge pictured, you would have to post good pictures of the obverse and reverse.

Why do people suggest that this is a fantasy piece?

Regards, Philip

Showing the rear set up is critical in cases where a badge has been called into doubt, although I also think that this one is an unlikely a target for the fakers....,yet.
    'I do not think we can hope for any better thing now.
    We shall stick it out to the end, but we are getting weaker of course, and the end cannot be far.
    It seems a pity, but I do not think I can write more. R. SCOTT.
    Last Entry - For God's sake look after our people.'

In memory of Capt. Robert Falcon Scott, Edward Wilson, Henry Bowers, Lawrence Oates and Edgar Evans. South Pole Expedition, 30th March 1912.