Adlermilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Mystery sword

Article about: Just came across a a sword in old family belongings. I know nothing about swords so not sure this is even the correct place to be asking questions. The sword marking are Eickhorn SOLINGEN It

Martin42
    ?

Default Mystery sword

Just came across a a sword in old family belongings.
    I know nothing about swords so not sure this is even the correct place to be asking questions.
    The sword marking are "Eickhorn SOLINGEN" It has the number 1202 on the handle and the scabert. The Handel also has "C.E/39" which is also on the scabert.
    There is also another small stamp I can't make out. Could possibly be No A253.
    Any help with history or value would be great. Thanks
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Mystery sword   Mystery sword  

Mystery sword  

2. # ADS

?

Wait on Ryan or Frogprince to tell you more about this sword, i'm no swords expert but IMO it is a standard army infantry NCO sword.

The WaA is the proofstamp (Waffen Abnahme Amt) the number 253 is related to the Inspector (personal numbers so its easily seen who did the proofings)
    Inspectors changed Plants after a small period of time, so that there whould be no bonding with the factory management that could lead to bribe and "fake" quality proofings.

The 1202 is the Arsenal number of this sword (Kammerstempel)
    C.E. / 39 = Carl Eickhorn 1939 produced.

Regards
    Ger
    Last edited by gerrit; 03-24-2017 at 10:32 AM.

Dove head at a quick glance.

Thread moved to the Third Reich Swords forum
    It is not the size of a Collection in History that matters......Its the size of your Passion for it!! - Larry C

One never knows what tree roots push to the surface of what laid buried before the tree was planted - Larry C

“The farther back you can look, the farther forward you are likely to see.” - Winston Churchill