Steyer Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Wwii german sword - what do i have here?

Article about: Picked up this Sword today. Handle is not in the best shape but the blade is nice. What do I have here? No maker markings on blade. Should I try to clean the handle?

Default Wwii german sword - what do i have here?

Picked up this Sword today.
    Handle is not in the best shape but the blade is nice.
    What do I have here?
    No maker markings on blade.
    Should I try to clean the handle?
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Wwii german sword - what do i have here?   Wwii german sword - what do i have here?  

Wwii german sword - what do i have here?   Wwii german sword - what do i have here?  

Wwii german sword - what do i have here?   Wwii german sword - what do i have here?  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Wwii german sword - what do i have here?
    P
    Many

Im not an expert but this looks like a WW1 German officers sword to me, I suspect for an Artillery Officer as it has crossed canons. If it was me a would just give the rusted areas a good brush with a very stiff brush (like a nail brush) and it may look better. I would recommend against aggressive cleaning.

There should be no rust if this is made of brass, which it should be.
    Ralph.
    Searching for anything relating to, Anton Boos, 934 Stamm. Kp. Pz. Erz. Abt. 7, 3 Kompanie, Panzer-Regiment 2, 16th Panzer-Division (My father)

Are you saying it is a repro?

Im on dodgy ground here with my lack of knowledge and its likely Ralph knows more than I do! However the sword looks good to me and it looks similar to No.13 shown by Micheal Ryan on this forum An Aid to Manufacturer Identification -- Other Langet Designs

I have seen this sword in person when I visited Micheal and as I recall it was guilded steel, with the guilding missing, if my memory serves me correctly. Micheal has the finest collection of German swords I know of.