Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Afrika medal and Anschluss Medal

Article about: Hey, got these two medals today. What do you think about them? See anything suspicious?

Default Afrika medal and Anschluss Medal

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Afrika medal and Anschluss Medal
    P
    Many

Default Re: Afrika medal and Anschluss Medal

Nothing suspicious from where I am sat !! Nice purchases Anton

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

?

Quote by Farradin View Post
    See anything suspicious?
    Not from here, they both look fine. The Afrika medal looks to be the earlier bronze type (as opposed to zinc).

Looking for LDO marked EK2s and items relating to U-406.....

Hi, thanks for replying! Where the Afrika medal made in 2 versions?
    Which side of the medal is the frontside?

?

Quote by Farradin View Post
    Hi, thanks for replying! Where the Afrika medal made in 2 versions?
    Which side of the medal is the frontside?
    Hi Anton,
    As far as I know the medal was made in bronze, then zinc. The front is the side with the gladiators and crocodile with the black stripe of the ribbon to the viewers left. However, both ways are acceptable.
    For reference here is the arch depicted on the medal.......
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Afrika medal and Anschluss Medal  

Looking for LDO marked EK2s and items relating to U-406.....

Here is some info on this medal Anton:
    The Italo-German Campaign Medal for service in Africa was instituted by the Italian Government to reward the achievements of Rommel's Afrika Korps. The medal was only to be awarded to German troops, the first presentations taking place in 1942. Due to Italy's withdrawal from the war and subsequent surrender, the wear of all Italian awards was prohibited in orders distributed to the German Armed Forces dated March 29th, 1944.