Wardmilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Deutsche Kreuz mit Brillanten - Opinions Please

Article about: beautiful.

Default Deutsche Kreuz mit Brillanten - Opinions Please

Hello, thank you in advance for any opinions you have on this piece. Was surfing a well known military site today and was intrigued by this German Cross in Gold with Diamonds. I would like to get some expert opinions on the piece (not that I could afford it). I've uploaded a couple of the images as well as added a link where all the images could be viewed. What strikes me as odd is the crude maker name added to the back pin. I'm no expert, but it would seem that on a high end piece it would be better executed.

Thank you for your assistance. Ron

German Cross in Gold with Diamonds
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Deutsche Kreuz mit Brillanten - Opinions Please   Deutsche Kreuz mit Brillanten - Opinions Please  

Deutsche Kreuz mit Brillanten - Opinions Please   Deutsche Kreuz mit Brillanten - Opinions Please  

Deutsche Kreuz mit Brillanten - Opinions Please  
    Last edited by Adrian; 09-18-2013 at 02:57 PM. Reason: Title changed to use German terminology.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Deutsche Kreuz mit Brillanten - Opinions Please
    P
    Many

?

I can tell you that it is understood that approximately twenty examples of these awards were made by Rath in Munich and they are obviously a very rare and desirable piece.
    I believe one or two of these are on display in the Military Museum at West Point.

It checks out in general but as these are very scarce I cannot comment on authenticity. I have a book open in front of me which shows an original and one thing I do notice is that the trimming outline of the base star differs from that shown above. I have no idea if this is down to hand finishing or not.

Looking for LDO marked EK2s and items relating to U-406.....

Hi Ron,