Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Help identifying Ostmedaille and another unidentified piece - are they authentic?

Article about: I'm quite new to relics. Found these in a collection of my dad's (with his old boy scout medals and badges) so I don't know the provenance of them. I've been able to identify the first piece

Default Help identifying Ostmedaille and another unidentified piece - are they authentic?

I'm quite new to relics. Found these in a collection of my dad's (with his old boy scout medals and badges) so I don't know the provenance of them.

I've been able to identify the first piece as an Ostmedaille but is it authentic? The ribbon looks to be in remarkable condition which immediately makes me suspicious. The ring also appears to be much "newer" than the medal itself. I also note that I don't see much evidence of the small "button" or "rivet" on the helmet that I see in other pix of this medal (I can barely see it on the back side and its almost nonexistent on the front). Is this the real thing?

Help identifying Ostmedaille and another unidentified piece - are they authentic?

The second piece I'm stumped on. I don't know what it is (e.g., what its function is, or what it's called). The metal is somewhat soft, and I don't see any makers markings on it anywhere. What is this piece, and is it authentic? If the latter, what kind of value might it have?

Thanks for your feedback!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Help identifying Ostmedaille and another unidentified piece - are they authentic?
    P
    Many

Default Re: Help identifying Ostmedaille and another unidentified piece - are they authentic?

Hello GladiusA and welcome to the forum. I'm afraid the Ostmedaille is a crude fake as you suspected. It is of extremely poor detail and th flaws are quite obvious when compared to an original item. Please take a look here for more info on this medal Reproduction Eastern Front Medals - R.M.Militaria