Damn Yankee - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Lorient shield - opinions please

Article about: I am not an expert on German shields and am looking for some help to determine its authenticity, if anybody can help. I was given this shield with an EK Class 2 from WW1 many years ago.

Madziro
    ?

Default Lorient shield - opinions please

I am not an expert on German shields and am looking for some help to determine its authenticity, if anybody can help. I was given this shield with an EK Class 2 from WW1 many years ago.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Lorient shield - opinions please   Lorient shield - opinions please  

2. # ADS

I'm no expert on these, but for me no. Sorry Stewy

?

Ditto

a very well known fake.nobody is sure whether they existed.

Quote by harryamb2 View Post
    a very well known fake.nobody is sure whether they existed.
    I think they did exist in some form. Look at the Lappland shield. Although genuine Lappland docs are confirmed to exist, genuine Lorient docs??
    Stewy

These existed for sure, but as with the Lappland Shield, they are all crude field-produced pieces and examples without solid provenance are best avoided, in my opinion...
    cheers, Glenn

Not sure if i've ever seen a genuine Lorient shield but this one looks a bit naff.
    Last edited by Adrian; 12-05-2013 at 12:56 PM.

There are confirmed originals made out of everything from cardboard and even leather, according to my Niemann Guide...
    cheers, Glenn