Damn Yankee - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Ribbon authenticity guide

Article about: Hello people... I am aware that I'm not an expert so please don't be that hursh on me and correct me if wrong, this is my 1st 'guide' post... I found online (fb group: Identifying German WWI

Default Ribbon authenticity guide

Hello people...

I am aware that I'm not an expert so please don't be that hursh on me and correct me if wrong, this is my 1st 'guide' post...

I found online (fb group: Identifying German WWII FAKE Medals & Badges) some tips and tricks in order to spot whether a ribbon is a modern or not one and thought to share so it might help a few guys out there to keep a sharp eye on the details of our precious colourful thingies.

I've read a lot about UV light and the burn test but here's another tip to follow as a first way of identifying whether a ribbon gets the thumbs up, at least at first glance. It might be helpful when the actual ribbon is not on hand.

Back then, they used to produce the ribbons in two seperate threads. One was the warp and the other the weft. As a rule of thumb, if the ribbon has no weft then, most probably, isn't a good one.

The machines were different back then and nowadays producing the weft is more time consuming and expensive but I'm sure that there should be excellent and clever copies out there, especially on the more expensive ribbons.

Let's see two examples from my collection.

First we'll see the original ribbon on a War Merit medal... (sorry for the bad lighting, photo very old but the wanted detail clearly visible)

... and the detail:

As you can see the weft is clearly visible so the ribbon gets the OK.
    Now let's see a modern made ribbon for a ww1 non-combatants EK2...

...and the detail:

As you see, no weft on that ribbon.
    Luckily the price was way too low for such a medal and I expected the ribbon to be modern made so I didn't cry a lot.