Damn Yankee - Top
Display your banner here

What medal is the ribbon for?

Article about: Hey guys just got this tunic yesterday and I am confused at what medal this ribbon is for? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks Ray

Default What medal is the ribbon for?

Hey guys just got this tunic yesterday and I am confused at what medal this ribbon is for? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

Ray

What medal is the ribbon for?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement What medal is the ribbon for?
    P
    Many

?

Default Re: What medal is the ribbon for?

KVK and Ostvolk?

Looking for LDO marked EK2s and items relating to U-406.....

Quote by Adrian View Post
    KVK and Ostvolk?
    Agreed; specifically, the 2nd Class in Silver of the Ostvolk decoration.

Thanks guys. Now I have to find one lol

There are plenty around ray

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

The Wikipedia entry for the Ostvolk medal states "the Germans had to be wearing the Iron Cross 2nd and 1st class before obtaining the silver Ostvolk Medal" If so, how can a KVK and Ostvolk be worn???

Ade and Paul E cleared up my other point of confusion but I think this still stands??
    Last edited by Danmark; 03-17-2013 at 12:36 PM.
    " I'm putting off procrastination until next week "

Quote by Danmark View Post
    The Wikipedia entry for the Ostvolk medal states "the Germans had to be wearing the Iron Cross 2nd and 1st class before obtaining the silver Ostvolk Medal" If so, how can a KVK and Ostvolk be worn???

Ade and Paul E cleared up my other point of confusion but I think this still stands??
    The above information is incorrect.

All classes of the Ostvolk decoration were either awarded with swords (as a Tapferkeitsauszeichnung = decoration for bravery) or without swords (as a Verdienstauszeichnung = decoration for merit).