Espenlaub Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

What's this ribbon?

Article about: I found a photo of my granpa and wonder what the ribbon represents? Thanks.

Default Re: What's this ribbon?

A very useful exercise Andreas, thank you

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement What's this ribbon?
    P
    Many

?

Thanks for all the comments. Using HPL2008's photos, I measured the width from the inside of the white band on the left across the ribbon to the inside of the white band on the right. Then I measured the outside of the white band on the left across the ribbon to the outside of the white band on the right. Then I calculated a ratio of the inner width divided by the outer width and got the results below.

from photo
    Imperial EK2 0.49
    1939 EK2 0.59 (0.61 from a actual ribbon)
    KVK 0.63 (0.62 from actual ribbon)
    Westwall 0.68 (0.68 from actual ribbon)
    Lifesaving 0.65
    Red Cross 0.71
    Opa photo 1 0.51
    Opa Photo 2 0.55

So the ribbon looks closer to a EK2. But couldn't be Imperial since he did not serve in WW1. Can also rule out Westwall. What do you think?

?

Have you got anymore photos or can you find out what awards he was entitled to?

Looking for LDO marked EK2s and items relating to U-406.....

?

Quote by Adrian View Post
    Have you got anymore photos or can you find out what awards he was entitled to?
    ds
    Unfortunately, those are the best photos I have showing the ribbon. I do not know what awards he received. My gut feeling is that the ribbon is a Westwall.....but it doesn't match up with the expected ratios. But at least he got his tunic eagle corrected.

?