Militaria-Reisig & Antiquitäten - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

A word of caution.

Article about: I agree Adrian. Here are lot of people who are real experts for individual medals. From personal experience the people here are very helpful. A lot of people wants to turn out smart. It take

?

Default A word of caution.

Guys,
    There has been a noticeable trend recently of members commenting on items, not just in this area but across the forum, where the comment reads something along the lines of: "I'm no expert but this is a fake/original" (delete as appropriate) or "I know nothing about these but.........."

Please, if you don't know anything about it or have no idea what you're commenting on, don't.

Ask questions yes, give reasons for your opinion, of course but please hold back unless you've got a valid reason to comment. Giving your opinion with a caveat of "I don't know anything about these items" as a way of excusing yourself of responsibility if the potential buyer of an item makes a mistake is wrong.

There have been many times where I and other members here have had to step in after a wrong authentication of an item by an inexperienced person in that particular area.

Please think about the consequences of your comment, saying an item is real when you really don't have a clue could cause a fellow member/collector to make an expensive mistake, telling them their long sought after item is a reproduction when it is in fact real could make them miss out on a deal.

I'm not discouraging members from getting involved, far from it, I'm trying to encourage discussion on items in the right way, by asking if you don't know, making observations and learning from your enquirys. I'm trying to discourage the real or fake comments given without any real and factual information to back it up.

Also, please remember, shiny and new pieces can be original. Dirty, rusty and old looking pieces can be brand new.