MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

1941/42 Luftwaffe Paratrooper Commendation for bravery on the Russian Front

Article about: Hi Guys, I'm a newbie hoping to get information on an item. I have what I believe to be a Luftwaffe paratrooper Commendation for the winter campaign of 1941/42 on the Russian Front. Loosely

Default 1941/42 Luftwaffe Paratrooper Commendation for bravery on the Russian Front

Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie hoping to get information on an item.
    I have what I believe to be a Luftwaffe paratrooper Commendation for the winter campaign of 1941/42 on the Russian Front. Loosely translated reads:
    "A hero for Fuhrer, Folk and Realm suffered in Russia
    Corporal Helmut Kirsten
    in the Company "Winter Storm"

It measures about 8" x 10 1/2". As the picture shows it has terrific coloring with the Luftwaffe symbol in blue, with a yellow paratrooper eagle below that and then the soldier's name actually hand painted in gold. Signed on the bottom by his commander Lieutenant Colonel Walter Koch. (later allegedly killed on Hitler's orders).

Any info would be appreciated.

Thanks

Bill
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture 1941/42 Luftwaffe Paratrooper Commendation for bravery on the Russian Front   1941/42 Luftwaffe Paratrooper Commendation for bravery on the Russian Front  

1941/42 Luftwaffe Paratrooper Commendation for bravery on the Russian Front  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement 1941/42 Luftwaffe Paratrooper Commendation for bravery on the Russian Front
    P
    Many

Welcome on the forum!!!! I can't help you with this but others will do soon enough! If your items turn out to be an original then you have a very nice piece of paper there!!!

I have seen these before,this one looks ok to me.

MAP
    ?

Paper is tough. I think the guys will need a lot clearer pictures to authenticate. close ups of the edges, back, writing, signature, etc.

welcome to the forum.

Michael