Militaria-Reisig & Antiquitäten - Top
Display your banner here

1943 Graff Spee item???

Article about: Hi, Would this be an actual item relating to the Graff Spee after capture or a fake? Neil

Default 1943 Graff Spee item???

Hi,

Would this be an actual item relating to the Graff Spee after capture or a fake?

Neil
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture 1943 Graff Spee item???  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement 1943 Graff Spee item???
    P
    Many

Default Re: 1943 Graff Spee item???

To me the stamps look crisper an newer than the rest of the document

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

The document in a whole is kept in very good condition...

The Island have a jail..why not?

Maybe the document is genuine and the Graf Spee handstamp is bogus and has been added more recently? I cannot see the point of stamping a document from February 1943 with an official stamp specific to the battleship Graf Spee that was scuttled in December 1939, it doesn't make sense.

All examples that I can find of genuine handstamps used by the Graf Spee on postal envelopes and suchlike are in a rectangular block design, and all pre date December 1939, here is an example below.

The above document, if genuine, would I imagine have gone through the German Embassy in Buenos Aires and been dispatched by diplomatic bag because there is no sign of the red pencil that the Argentinian censors would have used or the specific censorship no. 4127 that was used for all documents and correspondence relating to the Graf Spee and her interned crew at Martin Garcia.