Militaria Romandie - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Advice for a Budding Collector

Article about: Hello everyone! I am not just new to this forum, I am also very new to collecting military-related photographs. I have been studying history and art history for the past five years but, almo

Quote by Achilles View Post
    With regard to the man on the right of the first photo, I had thought he may be an Obergefreiter?
    Rank insignia for privates were revised in 1936.

The old system (in place when this photo was taken) was:

• Schütze etc. = no insignia
    • Oberschütze etc. = 1 chevron
    • Gefreiter = 2 chevrons
    • Obergefreiter = 3 chevrons
    • Stabsgefreiter = 2 chevrons + 1 pip

After the revision, it was:

• Schütze etc. = no insignia (as before)
    • Oberschütze etc. = 1 pip
    • Gefreiter = 1 chevron
    • Obergefreiter = 2 chevrons
    • Obergefreiter with more than 6 years time in service = 1 chevron + 1 pip
    • Stabsgefreiter = 2 chevrons + 1 pip (as before)

Also, I just noticed a goof in my post # 17: The two men with one chevron are, of course, not ranked Gefreiter, but Oberschütze. (Unfortunately, I can't edit that post anymore.) The other ranks are correctly identified.
    Last edited by HPL2008; 10-24-2019 at 08:25 PM.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Advice for a Budding Collector
    P
    Many

Hi Achillies,
    Check this link out for more details on Infanterie Regiment 41 Google Translate . I learned of the Lexicon, through the good members on this forum.
    Regards
    Paul
    PS.
    Once in the link, if you scroll down there is another link to several more 1939 photos & including a regimental photo.

With regard to the man on the right of the first photo, I had thought he may be an Obergefreiter? Anyway, more fool me, I have a few other negatives here. I wondered whether anyone could recognise the town with the bombed bridge?
    It's Kaunas (Kowno) in Lithuania: