Ratisbon's - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

A Berlin soldiers story.

Article about: G'day fellas, I recently picked up this great little grouping, it all belongs to the same man, an Erich Walder(n) he was a soldier in the battle of Berlin. I have the mans dog tag, his soldb

What a nice little grouping you have found Dave!

It great piecing together a soldiers career, I am into that at the moment with SS stuff

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement A Berlin soldiers story.
    P
    Many

Thanks Nick, it is a great little grouping and you are dead right, it's great finding out a bit of info about the bloke. Just thinking that this bloke was right there as the third reich came to an end is fascinating. He must have experienced some horrific scenes.

The soldier's name was Erich Walden.

He was born in Hennickendorf, county Nord-Barnim on 22nd Aug. 1911 and married to Margarete Walden neé Schlauss; they lived at Edisonstr. 58 in Berlin-Oberschöneweide. He was no church member. His civilian occupation is given as Sachbearbeiter, meaning some kind of clerk in a mercantile or administrative role.

Walden was registered with the Wehrmeldeamt Berlin-Neukölln [Berlin-Neukölln Draft Board] under the personal number Berlin V 11/245/20/6.

His training/replacement unit was the 1st Company of the Pionier-Ersatz- und Ausbildungsbataillon 23 Berlin-Spandau [Engineer Replacement and Training Batalion 23 Berlin-Spandau] (ID tag no. 8552).
    He went to the field with the 1st Company of the Pionier-Sperr-Batalion 968 [Engineer Blocking Battalion 968] (personnel roster no. 133).

His rank was Pionier, i.e. a basic-level private in the Engineers' branch.

Walden was wounded by a through-and-through gunshot wound to the upper thigh. Initial treatment included a morphine injection for the pain and a tetanus shot.