Combat-relics.com - Top
Display your banner here

Water Bottle Base marking

Article about: Gents One of interest for you, I dont know as I am a newbie to equipment. I have seen this on the base of a water bottle it says "Aluminium pur Menesa" dont know if its an original

Default Water Bottle Base marking

Gents

One of interest for you, I dont know as I am a newbie to equipment. I have seen this on the base of a water bottle it says "Aluminium pur Menesa" dont know if its an original marking but I found a site which says these were made by Metallindustrie GmbH Neunkirchen Saar (Menesa) and the aluminium pur is French. Can anyone enlighten me please?

Cheers

Ben
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Water Bottle Base marking  
    Ben

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Water Bottle Base marking
    P
    Many

It also seems to have a big number "1" stamped underneath it
    Ben

And on the cup and MN 43 on it. So the MN short for Menasa?
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Water Bottle Base marking  
    Ben

Nobody any ideas?
    Ben

Correct MN does stand for Menesa. It made feldflasche for the Germans during the war, not seen one so marked before and would say it is post war domestic/camping gear.

Quote by BlackCat1982 View Post
    Correct MN does stand for Menesa. It made feldflasche for the Germans during the war, not seen one so marked before and would say it is post war domestic/camping gear.
    Could be but the cup is marked MN 43 with the Menasa marking on its top and the bottle marked as above
    Ben

There is a great 5 page thread on the WAF ref this maker, some reckon its its Max Muller Nurnberg
    Ben

Max Müller, Nurnberg did not make metal items afaik, they made leather items and their maker code was bmd.

Like with the RBN codes, the makers name would NOT have been on anything by 1943 to avoid allied bombing .
    " I'm putting off procrastination until next week "

Hello.