Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Future of the Hobby

Article about: I have been collecting IIRP militaria for almost the past 8 years and have seen the prices of items inch up and up during that time. I have read and heard the stories about 15 or 20 years ag

I believe the hobby is alive and well...The Internet has been instrumental in creating the lucrative international market that we see today...There was nothing like this when I began collecting in 1974 as a youngster, when you were pretty much on your own with very few books, let alone anything even remotely like this Forum...I also believe that we're already seeing an increased interest due to the 100th Anniversary of the beginning of WWI (1914-18), and the 70th Anniversary of D-Day on June 6th of this year...
    Btw, I've never been a man of wealth who could just buy a load of stuff and call it a collection...Because of this I've always had to rely upon my own research, knowledge, footwork and luck instead, to know a good thing when I see it, to develop a real instinct for this material, my German-language skills help of course, and constant price comparisons along with much patience in order to put my collections together...I don't think I've ever spent more than $400 on a single item in 38 years of collecting...Money helps, but Passion is surely the most important factor in successful collecting, in my opinion...
    cheers, Glenn

- - ------- - -
    Last edited by bigmacglenn; 01-10-2014 at 05:14 AM.

Bravo Glenn and all others who posted replies.

In my words...even in study alone only strengthens ones knowledge. That is in itself...a part of collecting. Like building upon a small stone...just keep adding to it. Regards Larry
    It is not the size of a Collection in History that matters......Its the size of your Passion for it!! - Larry C

One never knows what tree roots push to the surface of what laid buried before the tree was planted - Larry C