Ratisbon's - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Future of the Hobby

Article about: I have been collecting IIRP militaria for almost the past 8 years and have seen the prices of items inch up and up during that time. I have read and heard the stories about 15 or 20 years ag

I am 59 and so have been collecting for about 45-50 years. I can remember when you could purchase a german helmet in good condition for under $50.00 US. Also as a veteran who is still in the Reserves but who is also a member of several veteran orgainizations I have been given some items by vets or their children who have no interest in this stuff. The older I get the more I am divesting myself of some of my collection also and there are those regardless of generation who are interested in military history so there will always be a market.

?

As I read through this I saw some very important points. As Patrick and I are some of the youngest members on here I have a feeling that we as fellow collectors are in charge of keeping this hobby alive for the generation after us. From the pages i've seen on facebook and such there are numerous of collectors our age, which is great! Kids from all walks of life trying to scrounge up all their money so they can so they can buy their first german item, it's a great sight to see. From all the knowledge ive developed on here I have passed on to kids like me so they can start off also, I have also gotten numerous of people to sign up on the forum and they love it! As I am now working age I will soon get a job so I can feed my reenacting obsession. Once that is over I will continue with the dagger and photo purchasing. For now buying and selling items is where I make my livelihood.
    Thanks Again
    Ryan

?