Combat-relics.com - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Helmet stands ?

Article about: Not sure how much they cost new, ... but I picked this one up in an "antiques" centre for £7.00 GBP Gary J. by Zeller very nice glass head! Are they expensive?

?

Default Re: Helmet stands ?

Not sure how much they cost new, ... but I picked this one up in an "antiques" centre for £7.00 GBP

Gary J.

Quote by Zeller View Post
    very nice glass head! Are they expensive?

Quote by stuka f View Post
    They can be made in a transparant resin!
    I am working on original 1930's display mannequin's heads at the momment.
    Hello stuka f,
    Can you let me know how you make these display heads, and the availability/cost of the materials required? They certainly look good. I have little experience of using resin or glassfibre, I'm still working with wood, metal, and solder, must be getting old!
    Will be gratefull for any advice,
    Best regards,
    Guy.

hello navyman,

The best advice I can give you is to read some books about it...and then you'll know how NOT to do it.
    Thise is what I learned over the years.
    I was looking for those books ,because someone else asked me over a PM about it, but the shelf is empty! I must have lent them to somebody and never got them back. There where 3 or 4 books, all totaly different , even different languages , but I can not recall them. Not a great loss, as they where miss...to me!
    Every job is different, and needs some different approches. There are things like gravity , air and so many other factors you need to take in consideration, when working with those products. Even the way of thinking needs to be adjusted...you need to be thinking back-worts...Very difficult to explain for me as I am not that good with words.
    I will try to make pictures of the different steps, while making those heads.
    Just already have a look here;
    Sand casting - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia