Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

New film - 'Stalingrad'

Article about: Looking forward to this !! It stars the excellent Thomas Kretchmann and the brilliant August Diehl ( Inglorious Bastards) Stalingrad (2013) - IMDb Shooting Stalingrad: Renowned Russian direc

Default Re: New film - 'Stalingrad'

I have just noticed I have posted this thread in the wrong section

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

I'm ready for a new WWII movie! Thanks for the heads up. I hope it makes it here.

I quite enjoyed the 1993 Stalingrad movie too, it got a little silly towards the end but the initial battles in the factories were quite enthralling and certainly gave an impression of what 'ratzen kreig' was all about.

?

Quote by hucks216 View Post
    I'm always a little dubious of books with less than 200 pages as to how in-depth can they really be when you take into account that it will also have pages on the background to the events and the after effects etc?
    An extremely good book is Michael K Jones 'Stalingrad: How The Red Army Triumphed' - although it concentrates on the Russian angle it does have plenty of eye witness accounts and breaks down the long held myths of various parts of the battle.
    Got to agree with Kevin here under 200 pages is really scratching the surface although if it's just a chronology it may do the job . Unfortunately there have in the last few years been quite a few new books rushed out about Stalingrad that are plainly appaulling .just a regurgitation of already known facts or information !!