Wardmilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

People judgmental about your collection?

Article about: There will always be people who do not understand and will create problems or pester people over it. Morris

Default Re: People judgmental about your collection?

I'm studying military history at uni and even some of my course mates that I have told about my collecting can't really see it, although I'm more likely to get called General Patton than Adolf. I personally think that people should keep their comments to themselves. They wouldn't go into a museum and complain about Third Reich memorabilia (or would they!?) so I think if someone had a problem I would just have to tell them to mind their own business than get into an argument with them. I just think that sometimes people's opinions can't be changed and there is not much point in trying to change them.

P. S. One of my uni friends who was skeptical has now got a rather respectable collection of post- war British edged weapons........ but will not admit to being a collector. A closet collector if you will. HAHA

once my collection gets bigger than the few items i have i plan to dedicate one large room as my war room/ my happy place and only a select few will be allowed to enter

My wife tolerates it, my kids dont give a monkeys and my mates think its cool!

Needless to say I'm not allowed to display any of it outside of my garage

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

Not surprising to get negative comments in our "politically correct" society today. Tell them to mind their own business.

I wonder just how many "secret museums" in back rooms, lofts, spare bedrooms, garages etc there must be in the world...my stash included of course.
    I collect, therefore I am.

Nothing in science can explain how consciousness arose from matter.

I bet some of you own Aladdin's cave.