Adlermilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Sell everything!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Article about: Ok... While talking to a friend this subject came up... So I will post this question to all of you.... What would it take for you to sell all or part of your collection??? The reason I bring

?

Default Re: Sell everything!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi Lowboy,good question,not sure exactly but if my family was in trouble I certainly wouldn't hold off too long,but as Jas said there would definately be an order to sell in ...my collection is a great investment for me and every year I'm surprised to see the jump in price of items I hold. But I guess as a proper answer to your question it would take a crisis for me to sell at this point in time.

for better or for worse, i make my living from investments and have for 25 years exclusively.

two thoughts immediately come to mind.

the first is that i can't answer the question without knowing the investment because answering the question requires the investment be analyzed.

the second is that, by definition, return has a direct and positive correlation with risk. therefore, regardless of what you are being told, the truth will likely be that if the return is extreme, so too will be the risk. therefore, as profit of 200% (ending up with triple what you started with) is extreme, the risk will also be extreme.

risk is often not apparent on the surface. and this is how it is so often underestimated. but it is there. and it will manifest itself in the end and to the unfortunate in ways that they did not envisage until it is in their face. of course, by then, the damage has been done.

i am not telling anyone what to do. i'm just talking about the nature of risk in investments. it is ALWAYS present and the greater the return, the greater the risk.
    Last edited by tempelhof; 06-03-2012 at 04:00 AM.

Quote by tempelhof View Post