Damn Yankee - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

War Films

Article about: Saving Private Ryan Bridge Too Far Enemy At The Gates ( a bit cheesy but I liked Rachel Weiss as a Russian soldier)! We were Soldiers Platoon Nick

Default Re: War Films

Saving Private Ryan
    Bridge Too Far
    Enemy At The Gates ( a bit cheesy but I liked Rachel Weiss as a Russian soldier)!
    We were Soldiers
    Platoon

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

Quote by Wolfspear View Post
    Enemy At The Gates ( a bit cheesy but I liked Rachel Weiss as a Russian soldier)!
    Agreed!!

?

i agree with some of the other lad`s with Das Boot , that was a great film , and i also like :

Reach for the Sky
    Bridge on the river Kwai
    633 Squadron
    Memphis Belle

cheers Al

?

a few more , they`re all great

A Town like Alice
    The Cruel Sea
    Ice Cold in Alex
    Tora Tora Tora

?

and who can forget :

The Dambusters .......

cheers Al

?

among my favourites are:

A bridge too Far (yes I know this word for word, just ask Ade about the General )

Kelly's Heroes (a fantastic bit of "Mother beautiful" 1970's nonsense, with Donald Sutherland's unscripted Oddball hippy-ness making the film.)

Where Eagles Dare ( a good old fashioned war story, only spoiled by the Bell 47 helicopter)

Downfall ( a very moving account of the last days of the war)

A matter of life and death (not a blood and guts war film but, certainly well ahead of its time, the special effects for a 1940's film are very good)

Shaving Ryan's privates or No! I meant to say Saving private Ryan ( the open twenty minutes is very moving after that I lose interest)

The dirty dozen ( of course I talking about the original film, not the T. V. re-makes, again the training and build up to the mission is great, raiding the Chateau at the end does nothing for me)