Damn Yankee - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast

What happened to Joachim Peipers things?

Article about: Residents also wrote this on the road to his house, it was later washed away.

Default Re: What happened to Joachim Peipers things?

Yes, i would also like to know of any of his uniforms that in collectors hands, or museums.

Thanks
    Brian

Quote by AdrianC View Post
    Sorry Nick, nothing in the pics belongs to Peiper. I didn't see his stuff last time I went and since the museum changed it's layout. It was a few years ago I saw his belongings when the museum was in it's previous and better state.
    I only posted the pics to give an idea of how the place is today. I couldn't find any photos from my previous visit.
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

I know this is an old thread but I thought I would add a few things. Much of Peiper's personal belongings were probably stolen after his capture. This was common. What happened to it? Who knows? In the attic of some American soldier's house? There are pictures of him in later life wearing his favorite leather jacket. His son Hinrich, who looks a lot like him, is a very highly-placed executive in Deutsche Bank. The last time I heard, he had residences in Germany and New York. Anything that was still in Peiper's possession when the communists murdered him which was not destroyed is probably in his son's possession now. He still owns the house in Traves where his father was murdered and is leaving it in the exact condition it was in the morning after the attack.

?

Quote by 2shelbys View Post