Virtual Grenadier - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Asbestos in World War 2 gas mask

Article about: Hi there, I have to admit that I'm rather new to collection of war memorabilia so I'll apologise in advance for the ignorance of my question. I purchased a WW2 respirator at a 1940's weekend

mightyug
    ?

Default Asbestos in World War 2 gas mask

Hi there,

I have to admit that I'm rather new to collection of war memorabilia so I'll apologise in advance for the ignorance of my question. I purchased a WW2 respirator at a 1940's weekend in the UK. I rather foolishly assumed that if on open sale that their would be no health risks related with the item. When conducting further research I discovered that asbestos was used in the filters of gas masks in WW2 and no one particularly knows which ones. I've not worn the mask but have had it in the house and so on.

Is there anyone out there who can identify for me if the gas mask does indeed contain asbestos or not? Any advice offered would be greatly received.

ThanksAsbestos in World War 2 gas maskAsbestos in World War 2 gas maskAsbestos in World War 2 gas maskAsbestos in World War 2 gas maskAsbestos in World War 2 gas mask.

2. # ADS

MAP
    ?

will wait for people in the know about gas masks to respond, however based on what I've been told, if it does contain asbestos, it should be fine as long as it is not aggitated so that loose particles begin to be come airborne. If left static in a display it should be fine.

Just don't wear it!

Regards,

Michael
    "Please", Thank You" and proper manners appreciated

My greatest fear is that one day I will die and my wife will sell my guns for what I told her I paid for them

"Don't tell me these are investments if you never intend to sell anything" (Quote: Wife)

?

I agree with MAP, as long as you don't wear it or disturb the inside of the filter it should be fine. If you are really concerned, keep it stored, double bagged.

Steve.