Espenlaub Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Asbestos in World War 2 gas mask

Article about: Hi there, I have to admit that I'm rather new to collection of war memorabilia so I'll apologise in advance for the ignorance of my question. I purchased a WW2 respirator at a 1940's weekend

Quote by big ned View Post
    So what, the real danger here is the satsuma rammed in my mouth behind the mask....How bonkers is that eh? I like living on the edge me.

Attachment 711800
    I think i'm in love!.....

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Asbestos in World War 2 gas mask
    P
    Many

Yes, the old gasmasks do,indeed, contain asbestos. This does not mean, however, that there is an instant and immediate warning of lung cancer. Think of the guys who used to grind asbestos brake pads all day in the brake shops, or the guys who used to blow in asbestos insulation into the walls of houses and into ships hulls. They worked every Day in clouds of the stuff. How about electricians who used to bite the insulation off of wires to strip them? They put asbestos right into their Mouths for who knows how many times in a lifetime. Yes, asbestos can and has, indeed, caused problems for people-sometimes lethal, but to have a gasmask in your house is not an enormous danger-why would it be? Use common sense and handle the mask responsibly. It's not a toy to be worn around by your kids and played in (although, I do know kids who did just that). If they are just sitting there on a shelf, I would not worry overly much. I lived in a house that had asbestos tile over the entire outside of it. Never a problem. The stuff is not healthy to be breathing in the dust, but it's not plutonium by any means.
    William

"Much that once was, is lost. For none now live who remember it."