Wardmilitaria - Top
Display your banner here

German Dog Tags, to clean or not?

Article about: I'm new to this hobby and was wondering about the 'protocol' of whether to clean or not to clean. 2 of the below dogtags are zinc and as you can see they are definately showing their age whi

Default German Dog Tags, to clean or not?

I'm new to this hobby and was wondering about the 'protocol' of whether to clean or not to clean.
    2 of the below dogtags are zinc and as you can see they are definately showing their age which some may argue is a good thing. Should I try to clean them, even a little bit? If so, what is the best method? I figure a light clean might entail just a scrub with a toothbrush and warm soapy water followed by a squirt of WD40. If I was to go further what method could I use?

The alloy dogtag is a different story as I know aluminium can be polished to a mirror shine if need be, this one was ground dug from Stalingrad and as the lettering is quite legible I think it best to keep it in an 'as found' condition. Again if I was to give it a small 'tidy up' what is the best method without ruining the aged look of the piece?

Thanks in advance for any tips or comments.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement German Dog Tags, to clean or not?
    P
    Many

Default Re: German Dog Tags, to clean or not?

Hi Glenn, my advice would be to leave them be. To me they look fine.

Cheers, Ade.

leave m there fine,just as adrian says

?

You dont appear to have any serious zinc pest on the first two therefore they would be best left alone, the alloy does have some rot but attempting to clean it will damage the surface layers and could remove any definition on the numerals and letters, therefore advise no cleaning at all

?

Hey Glenn,
    I agree, don't touch them.