Marna Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

M40 helmet resto

Article about: by davejb looking Good Phill whats this one gonna be Thinking of going the whole Hog and doing a Camo theme with a half basket SD SS......Seeing how thats the only decal i had left

Default M40 helmet resto

G'day all, Here's my New project I'm starting today.
    It's an M40 and the only mark i can find is an "N" so i assume its an NS shell but i could be wrong,maybe some one could tell just from looking at the shape {but i'm not that experienced} The rivets need some work or may have to be replaced, and i'm tossing up whether to sell the original outer band and buy a repro or restore this one, any thoughts?

Cheers PhillM40 helmet restoM40 helmet restoM40 helmet restoM40 helmet resto

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement M40 helmet resto
    P
    Many

Default Re: M40 helmet resto

Gday Phill,
    That piece of what appears to be period wire looks good.A bonus mate.
    Good luck with her.

?

I say restore the outer liner band because it doesnt look too bad IMO from the pics provided.The wire looks cool and I hope you dont scrap it! I would try and look for an original liner (inner) and straps. Good luck Phil, I know it will look great when you are done!
    ~Dean

Thanks Guys, although, and i agree the wire in all it's simplicity looks the part, it isn't original, i added it myself just to give it a lift and see how she looked.
    As for the liner band it looks better than it is, 2 0f the pins broke trying to remove them, which i fully expected and the ring is quite corroded and brittle, i thought of spraying it with Cold Gal and trying to save it.
    It is stamped 66 n.A./59 but i cant see the maker.

Cheers Phill