Military Antiques Stockholm - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Restoration-oxalic acid

Article about: Hi, it depends on the object you need to clean. For an helmet, I usually use few table spoons in warm water. Much less for small objects and less water. But you have also to brush them often

Default Restoration-oxalic acid

I have been a member for about 3 years and in some need of help. I have a couple of helmet shells, they are solid but have some rust. I would like to remove the rust and clean them. I have heard about oxalic acid. I have access to Barkeepers Friend (main ingredient is oxalic acid), is that a good cleaning agent or should I attempt to get pure oxalic acid? I have located it on-line and it comes in liquid and dry, which is the best? Once I have it what is the soaking time? I have noticed on WRF times of up to 2 to 3 days. I am asking as I have never used it before and the shells are nice and solid with plenty of original paint on them and want to preserve them the best possible way. Any tips and info would really be helpful. Thanks, John

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Restoration-oxalic acid
    P
    Many

?

Default Re: Restoration-oxalic acid

Can you show these helmets John, you say they have original paint on them so i would assume the rust is a natural oxidization combined with the normal patina, if thats the case i would be loathe to remove the rust especially if its minimal, it could well remove patina, originality, and value

Dave, I'll try to take some pics tonight and get them posted. Thanks for the quick reply. John

?

John,
    Did you see my experience with BKF? (Relic M40 rust removal w BKF)