Adlermilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Duxford Air Show crash.

Article about: I saw these two Mustangs do a flying display at East Kirkby a couple of years ago and they gave me goosebumps, such a shame but thankfully no one was hurt Nick

Default Re: Duxford Air Show crash.

I saw these two Mustangs do a flying display at East Kirkby a couple of years ago and they gave me goosebumps, such a shame but thankfully no one was hurt

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

found a vid of it going down here:

YouTube - ‪Duxford 2011 P51 Skyraider Crash‬‏

I would say sad vid but in a way its not as all is alive and well

?

Its very unclear as to the actual bail out height, i daresay that he bailed well before people at that distance saw the chute deploy fully, but did you notice that the skyraider was very close to losing it as well, although it looks like the he flew into the P51 he did well to regain control

?

Here's another and slightly better view from another angle......

The loss of 'Big Beautiful Doll'

Looking for LDO marked EK2s and items relating to U-406.....

Wow!! He jettisoned the canopy less than 2 seconds after the collision and still only just got away with it, that's impressive reactions under such circumstances. I hope the 'Spad' driver bought him a pint later on!!

Regards, Ned.
    'I do not think we can hope for any better thing now.
    We shall stick it out to the end, but we are getting weaker of course, and the end cannot be far.
    It seems a pity, but I do not think I can write more. R. SCOTT.
    Last Entry - For God's sake look after our people.'

In memory of Capt. Robert Falcon Scott, Edward Wilson, Henry Bowers, Lawrence Oates and Edgar Evans. South Pole Expedition, 30th March 1912.

I got goosbumps just watching the video!!

?