MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

German War Graves

Article about: On a recent visit to my local cemetery I came across the graves of several German serviceman who died during WW2. I assume they are airman and one, a communal grave, possibly a bomber crew.

nice thread,there are still some original graves dotted about the country.

Quote by HPL2008 View Post
    Why is that so surprising? More than 2.5 million dead German soldiers from both world wars rest in foreign soil.
    I am no expert on this subject at all sorry. With being so few, I thought they may have been. I know for a fact there were lots of German war grave's in Jersey, and they were moved to a cemetery in France I believe. That would tie up with Big Ned's comment perhaps

There are also quite a number of dead British soldiers from both world wars resting in foreign soil, including my great uncle and a couple of other relatives

Quote by bigmacglenn1966 View Post
    I went to High School on the Army Base of Fort Knox, Kentucky...There are about 30 German and 2 Italian Soldiers resting in the cemetery there, former POWs who died while in captivity...The Bundeswehr Liason Officer takes part in the annual wreath-laying ceremony while a US Army Soldier plays "Ich hatt' einen Kameraden" on the Bugle...
    cheers, Glenn
    One time, purely by chance, I saw a wreath laying under the central cross by a group of German visitors at Cannock Chase. On their leaving I took a closer look, the wreath of red and yellow flowers was dedicated to aircrew of the famous KG 100, that was quite a surprise....

Regards, Ned.
    'I do not think we can hope for any better thing now.
    We shall stick it out to the end, but we are getting weaker of course, and the end cannot be far.
    It seems a pity, but I do not think I can write more. R. SCOTT.
    Last Entry - For God's sake look after our people.'