Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here
Page 5 of 20 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 15 ... LastLast

Now & Then.. Ardennes Iconic Image Journey..

Article about: Many thanks for your time and effort Luckystrike , this is an awesome thread many injoyable times , cheers Raymond

Jonesy
    ?

Default Re: Now & Then.. Ardennes Iconic Image Journey..

This is a fantastic thread, will you be posting more of the same stuff Wolfspear?
    I really hope so!

Quote by Jonesy View Post
    This is a fantastic thread, will you be posting more of the same stuff Wolfspear?
    I really hope so!
    Jonesy

I only dream of this type of stuff!

My holidays are with family at a sunshine resort somewhere!

What about you?

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

Hi Wolfspear and Jonesy thanks for your posts, I still have a little left as I said at the start of this thread it hadn't been my intention but I pretty much followed the Northern advance as far as it got.
    Stewfoxy I often wonder what happened to the people pictured when I take the Now and Then comparisons. But for once I can actually tell you a little about some of the identified troops in the pictures.
    In my first set of pictures posted tonight, the numbered ones pictures 2 and 3 show the same Soldier carrying the stg 44. His name was SS Rottenfuhrer Josef Priess Stabskompanie SS Panzer Aufklarungs Abteilung 1. Sadly he was killed just two weeks later (4th Jan 1945) fighting just East of Bastogne.
    Picture 6 the Officer is SS Unterscharfuhrer Wilhelm Gilbert Commander of 1 Zug of 2 Kompanie SS Panzer Aufklarungs Abteilung 1. He survived the war and I think was taken prisoner in Austria where he was held for 1 year, he died in 1984.