Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

POLL & OPINIONS: WWII Dagger, Swords & Knife Storage

Article about: Fellow Blade Lovers, I have been collecting WWII edged weapons for almost 30 years now. I am always interested, open & intrigued in finding out how my fellow collectors store their value

?

Same here Larry !!

Also when i receive a dagger or knife, i always give the blade a gentle wipe down with a very soft dry cloth to remove any dirt or fingerprints, i do not go near the motto or makers logo !!

never used any Renwax or similar product, my blades are totally fine after many years, no change.

Regards Mac 66.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement POLL & OPINIONS:  WWII Dagger, Swords & Knife Storage
    P
    Many

?

Quote by rbminis View Post
    Hello Rossi, I don't believe I have said this before,
    Welcome to the forum!
    I store the majority of my pieces out of the scabbards and most in display cases. As the atmosphere here is quite dry in the winter and relatively dry in the summer, there is little fear of rust developing unless due to poor storage.
    I clean any items when they arrive and sometimes actually, if the situation requires, make new wooden liners for my sword scabbards, (I always keep the originals). I will not oil any of my blades due to the fact that this will actually attract dust, and after cleaning, apply a light coat of Ren Wax. After that they only require the occasional check and wipe.
    Most of my bayonets are cleaned when they arrive and given a light coat of Ren Wax and put back into the scabbards.
    Here are a few photos of my displays.
    Ralph.
    What Ralph said. Been doing this for 40 years and have never had a problem.

?

I have used renwax on blades ( but not on Motto or logo: there are posts of collectors who think that renwax harms blacking in Motto & logo) and saw no difference in condition comparing them with blades that i only wipe off gently after use....