Militaria Romandie - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

early SS rifle ?

Article about: i'm told this is an early SS conversion . GEW98 (Double DH) the bolt is not numberd. i'd like to know if it's good and some idea what to offer the guy. thanks andrew

?

Default early SS rifle ?

i'm told this is an early SS conversion . GEW98 (Double DH) the bolt is not numberd. i'd like to know if it's good and some idea what to offer the guy.
    thanks andrew
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture early SS rifle ?   early SS rifle ?  

early SS rifle ?   early SS rifle ?  

early SS rifle ?  

Default Re: early SS rifle ?

I'm no expert, but I've heard that SS rune and totenkopf stamps are available for dishonest dealers to stamp whatever they want on rifles. For example, Mitchell's Mausers. A $300 Russian Capture K98k becomes a $1,000+ SS K98k with a few of these stamps and someone skilled enough to grind away old serial numbers and apply new ones. BEWARE!

?

Im thinking that pics 3-4 show very fine grind marks and there appears to be overstrikes imo

mpw
    ?

I must admit I don't know a lot about firearms and next to nothing about SS firearms but I do have a marked SS wooden stock from a K98. I am pretty sure it is genuine as it was sold to me covered in a waxy grease and pretty cheap too. Have you checked your wood work? Any markings could be pretty faint due to age and handling.

Mark.

early SS rifle ?early SS rifle ?

?