Combat-relics.com - Top
Display your banner here
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4

Query re Yugo M53 Machine Gun

Article about: Hi guys! I have been offered a nice M53 and have been told that it is dated 1944. I know that Yugoslavia produced the M53 under licence copying the German M42 but I thought that this was wel

?

Default Re: Query re Yugo M53 Machine Gun

Heck I dont mind a shooting version lol

Default MG42 or M53?

Hello All

I have an 'MG42' on my desk, or rather what claims to be one. The more I research on here (and a couple of other places), the more I think it may have started out in 1944 at Gustloff Werke in Suhl but along the way acquired some M53 parts via a stint in the Austrian army. At least that's the most optimistic explanation I can come up with.

I'm a complete novice at this so would appreciate your views. Some of the contributions on the subject of these guns had already been very informative on rivets v screws, safety catches and the various types of MG42 receivers compared to M53 ones.

I've photographed the various stamps and marks and posted a screengrab of the picture folder as a list view. This is to identify which parts the markings are on.

I'm told it's an 'early deact' but there's no certificate. There are what I assume are three proof stamps including one on the barrel. This is removable and the gun cocks and dry fires.

Hope this makes sense and thanks in advance for any advice or info.

Simon
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Query re Yugo M53 Machine Gun   Query re Yugo M53 Machine Gun  

Query re Yugo M53 Machine Gun   Query re Yugo M53 Machine Gun  

Query re Yugo M53 Machine Gun  
    Attached Images Attached Images Query re Yugo M53 Machine Gun 

Hi Simon,