Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

A surprise acquisition!

Article about: Can anyone please comment on the viability of this rifle as a functioning weapon? I've never encountered a hybrid like this before, and I'm curious to know if this was potentially put togeth

Default A surprise acquisition!

Yesterday, I was at college working with a photography tutor I hadn't previously spoke to before (I'm an illustrator), and the topic of my weapons collection came up. He said that there was some kind of rifle in college, in a storeroom after being used as a drama prop years ago- I told him I was interested in seeing it, and he went and returned with this rifle. So after a couple of minutes of me standing in a darkroom inspecting a bolt-action (it was a weird day), the tutor offered it to me, saying it had lay in a store room for a long time mostly unknown to people, and he didn't know what to do with it. I gladly accepted! My first thought was of course "How do I leave college with a rifle?", which was very conveniently solved with a black zip-up sportsbag he had, which fit perfectly. When I set off to college yesterday, I didn't imagine I'd be coming home with an old gun!

OK, so identification- I started searching the markings, and found a similar rifle made by the same manufacturer, but nothing of the exact weapon. My first thought is that it was merely a drama prop replica due to its crudely-fitting parts, though it's as sturdy as my Mosin Nagant, and has markings I wouldn't have expected on a prop. The still gun dry-fires (a VERY stiff bolt!). All I know at this point is it's French! I've never been knowledgeable on rifles, especially anything outside of German or Soviet territory, so any help here would be very much appreciated. I imagine someone here could probably tell me in a heartbeat what exactly I brought home yesterday...