MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here
Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast

WWII Weapons to be destroyed

Article about: Weapons to be destroyed.. Some are a collectors dream... Click on the icon...BILL Vil ha inn flere våpen - Innenriks - Dagbladet.no

?

Default Re: WWII Weapons to be destroyed

Funny thing about some of the weapons in the Norwegian article is that many of those weapons were still in use by the Norsk military in the 1980s. I was a student at the University of Oslo in 1984 and had a chance to observe an Army training unit (IO 1, IIRC). The officer of the day carried a German Lugar overstamped with Norwegian markings, the Homeguard was just turning in their Mausers for AG-3s and the Air Force security forces still carried Schmeissers.

?

Whilst serving in the British police force we sometimes had amnestys for weapons and it used to break my heart when i was on the front desk and some brought a historic weapon in. I once had a guy who handed over a Thompson smg with drum magazine no questions asked also a chap came in with a long cardboard box and inside was an AK 47 with two magazines fully loaded the gun was still in its grease proof wrapping and a russian inspectors certificate. But that was the guns dont forget the hundreds of third reich edged weapons handed in and i used to hold these with near tears in my eyes knowing that these were all going to HQ to be sent on for destruction but i bet a pound to a pinch of crap that some of these never made it to the furnace !!!

?

Destoying weapons like that is almost unbareable. If you only knew what we destroyed in Kosovo just in my time there in 2001. A LOT of WW2 stuff!
    When ever there is an amnesty the guns that are handed over are old relics, because the newer weapons are kept secret for, shall we say, later use?
    When we disarmed an insurgent group in the Kosovo/Serbia area they handed in only 5(!) AK 47s. The rest was old, rusty WW2 weapons.