Adlermilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Adolf Hitler plaque

Article about: Can anyone tell me about this plaque. Weighs about 26 pounds and 16x10 inches in size.

Default Re: Adolf Hitler plaque

Im not a expert or do I collect this kind of stuff. Is there anything I should be looking for on the plaque? I can ad more pictures.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Adolf Hitler plaque
    P
    Many

Is there any markings I should look for?

Look closely on the back(this may be difficult due to the oxidation and aging) and see if there are Any foundry marks-such as a small symbol, numbers, letters, etc. I would imagine that almost certainly an item like this would have Some sort of indication as to where it came from and who produced it, as it looks to be a production piece and not an art work. Also, examine the mounting holes for any signs of having ever been hung. There should be some indication of bolt head marks, etc where it was tightened down on a building. (Of course, if it was never Hung, this could possibly not tell you much too). This particular one seems to have an unusual set up for mounting-One small hole on the top for attaching it to a building? This seems woefully under arranged, as it is a heavy piece and has considerable weight-26 pounds, you would think there would be at least Two holes-top and bottom. This is alot of weight to be supported securely by one small bolt. Unfortunately, this fact alone makes this plaque an "iffy" piece, to me, anyway. William
    William

"Much that once was, is lost. For none now live who remember it."

The plaque has two holes. One that goes all the way through and one that looks like a stud hole.

I have a problem with the likeness - It does not look much like AH to me but a very
    arthritic attempt that lacks true artistic detail. Would something like this
    - especially in such a large size - not need some sort
    of 'official' approval ?