Rg-militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Fuhrerbunker plate

Article about: Not for Vegemite use! You might notice a small stamp on the back, that says:'Nur für Sauerkraut!'

Default Fuhrerbunker plate

G'day all, this item arrived today, I'm pretty excited about it to say the least! The plate measures 152mm across and is in excellent condition. I also have a copy of a letter from the British army Officer who brought it back, I have transcribed the letter, it reads:

8th April 1995

Dear Mr Blabey,
    I picked up your recorded message yesterday evening regarding an enquiry for further details of Hitler's plate sold for me at your auction on 21st March (lot 7+6 in your catalogue)
    I am afraid there is not much I can add. As a British Army Officer I went into Hitlers bunker in Berlin a few days after Berlin fell towards the end of the war. There was still a smell of burnt paper there and little to see in the fairly small structure which was largely intact. But I did notice some shelves with about a dozen of these plates - clearly for use by the staff. I purloined one fortunately, as a less modest French Officer took several and was stopped outside by a Russian sentry! In these circumstances I had little opportunity to enquire further, but it seems pretty clear that the plate was among those for use by his personal staff, possibly including Eva Braun.
    I hope this is of some help to your enquirer - I am at his disposal,
    yours sincerley,
    J.P. Ledboer