Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

KM painting scored at an antique shop.

Article about: I was walking through an antique shop the other day and found this oil painting for next to nothing. I'm not sure if it period or not... and for what I paid it doesn't really matter. I just

Default KM painting scored at an antique shop.

I was walking through an antique shop the other day and found this oil painting for next to nothing. I'm not sure if it period or not... and for what I paid it doesn't really matter. I just thought it was neat.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement KM painting scored at an antique shop.
    P
    Many

Default Re: KM painting scored at an antique shop.

looks like the graf spee burning,if so that must be kapitien langsdorff..love it.

Its not the Graf Spee imo. She was scuttled, her bridge etc were not alight like that and U Boats were not authorised to enter neutral Montevideo harbour.

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

I'm going to remove it from this hokey frame... It looks like it was in another frame before this one... It might just be period... who knows... Maybe I'll find a date and artist under the frame.

I think I may know this one.

I reckon it's a painting of the Battleship 'Bismarck' and U-556. The officer is probably Kapitanleutnant Wohlfarth, the sub's commander.( Then again, it could just as easily be Lindemann I guess!) The easiest way of explaining my reason is by quoting directly the connection between the two vessels from the 'Bismarck's Fourth Gunnery Officer and most senior survivor, Kapitan Burkard von Mullenheim-Rechberg: