Marna Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Hitler's Drugged Soldiers

Article about: Hi guys, After some research I came to a stunning discovery!!! In a letter dated November 9, 1939, to his "dear parents and siblings" back home in Cologne, a young soldier statione

?

Quote by TWS View Post
    Looks more like the horrors of combat etched on his face. The "thousand yard stare" as it has been put.

I have a few combat soldier estates consisting of both pre-war and war time photos - even a few studio portraits taken years apart. Sometimes there is a noticeable change. You can see the experiences from the Front etched on their faces compared to the pre-war photos.
    I agree but I see it a lot today too as 'ice' is prevalent more and more. And I was too susceptible to the odd amphetamine when I was young so I know that stare.
    Horrible stuff too

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Hitler's Drugged Soldiers
    P
    Many

TWS
    ?

Just because I mentioned it, here's one example that was easy to pull off display and shoot a couple quick photos.

Georg Stein was in Luftwaffe light Flak battalion 76 (motorized). His unit was directly attached to the Heer's 2nd Panzer Division for Barbarossa, so no doubt he saw a lot of front-line combat, very likely involving direct fire against ground targets too - his awards also testify to all this. I have read many accounts on how both Army or Luftwaffe light Flak were decisive in repelling mass wave assaults by the Red Army troops through using their 20 cm Flak cannons in direct fire support of ground combat. Must have been a stomach churning experience facing thousands of "Rotarmisten" screaming "Urrah!" while charging your unit positions.

Anyway, I believe I can see his experiences reflected in his face when comparing his prewar photos with those after a year and a half fighting on the Ost Front (as an Unteroffizier in the Fliegerbluse).

Hitler's Drugged SoldiersHitler's Drugged Soldiers