Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Operation Cerebus 'The Channel Dash'

Article about: by Scout OT I know, but speaking of docks; I always thought Op Chariot exceptionally devious. St Nazaire is another absolutely fascinating and couragous raid !! Nick

Default Operation Cerebus 'The Channel Dash'

I am fascinated with this subject.

I would like to hear from fellow WW2 enthusiasts your take on why we failed to sink the Gneisenau, Scharnhorst and Prinz Eugen. They were like rats in a trap as they ran the gauntlet!

The Channel Dash remains the only occasion since the Spanish Armada in 1588 that ships belonging to an enemy of Great Britain have successfully traversed the English Channel !

Thanks

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Operation Cerebus 'The Channel Dash'
    P
    Many

Default Re: Operation Cerebus 'The Channel Dash'

This is a very easy and concise read on the subject. Its a real 'Boys Own' battle!

Involved were: Galland and the Luftwaffe, , MTB boats, S- Boats, Coatal Battery guns, Battleships, destroyers, Submarines, Bomber Command, Coastal Command, Fighter Command, Swordfish attacks, VC's, French Resistance...

I just love it!
    Attached Images Attached Images Operation Cerebus 'The Channel Dash' 
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

?

Nick, would you say that it could go down in history as the Royal Navy's only night off in roughly 400 years...?

?

I was just reading up on it a little bit. The Germans wanted to mislead the locals before they departed, and in doing so, they took tropical helmets and cargo marked "for use in the tropics" onboard, so as not to give the game away that they were actually going to brave the channel. Fantastic stuff!

Regards,

Carl