Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Tiger 131

Article about: Hi all, I am wanting to know as much info as possible about the crew members of Tiger 131 [ bovington tiger 1 ]. There seems to be no knowledge of the crew after the tanks capture by the Bri

?

Default Re: Tiger 131

Quote by nomis View Post
    131 was photographed with crew clearly visible .
    Was that before or after the tank was disabled? I'm no expert on these matters but would it not be unusual if the latter?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Tiger 131
    P
    Many

?

Ade. Unit diary presumably at Bundesarchive and Bovington would be able to find out had the recorded info been available.

Grimmy. Photos obviously from before 131 knocked out as either , 1]official view is the crew legged it and no-one knows who they were or what happened to them, or 2]your version today of the crew being killed during the battle once the turret had been disabled.

Faces are clearly visible and i would have thought that some time since WW2 someone would recognise them. Were they the crew, in part or whole, at the time it was knocked out.

I am waiting on a reply from Bovington to the version of killing of the crew inside the tank, as i have not heard that one before and i wonder if they have, and how it relates to the officially recorded events.

SF.

Hi SF, thanks for the reply.

The only other way would be to approach things from the German angle, but I fear we are too late on this? Going through any possible Veterans group would have been an option years ago. But many groups have now been disbanded.

Cheers, Ade.
    Had good advice? Saved money? Why not become a Gold Club Member, just hit the green "Join WRF Club" tab at the top of the page and help support the forum!

?

Posting on one of the German based Panzer forums might also reveal some info unknown to us ?