MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

WWII German letters

Article about: Hi, my first post ! I have a question about some letters I found, a bit of history: Back in the early 90's I worked as a antique furniture restorer. My boss imported a load of chests, the ch

?

Default WWII German letters

Hi, my first post !

I have a question about some letters I found, a bit of history:

Back in the early 90's I worked as a antique furniture restorer. My boss imported a load of chests, the chests came in from Holland. My first job was to clear out all the rubbish, strangely nearly all the chests still had contents.
    Some of them were full of old news papers and one chest (the gem) had news papers from WWII. While pulling the papers out of the chest, a few letters fell out from with in, 2 were still in the envelopes and 1 was not.
    It was the envelopes that caught my attention, they had the swastika on them and were dated 1942.
    The writing was unreadable.

I kept the letters for several years, then one day I decided to do something with them, I had them translated at a great cost to my pocket ! It turned out they were written in the old German scroll, no longer used today, it took a proper expert to translate them, hence why it cost so much.

The contents of the letters were from a German officer writing to his loved one. He mentions the war a lot and was posted on the Russian front line before being posted to the English Channel. He mentions the English getting a bloody head and also mentions Hitler a couple of times.

Since having the letters translated I have made it a mission to not only find out what happened to the officer but to also find a direct descendant of the officers girl friend so I can return the letters.

I have the officers military number, but have no clue how to use it so I can trace him.