Steyer Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Fallschirmschützenabzeichen - JMME / IMME to show

Article about: Hi, hope you like this Paratrooper badge! It's Nickel-Silver and I think might be the 'Type G' (1941-42 made), from reading elsewhere. (The case is a copy.) Best regards, Paul

?

Default Fallschirmschützenabzeichen - JMME / IMME to show

Hi, hope you like this Paratrooper badge!

It's Nickel-Silver and I think might be the 'Type G' (1941-42 made), from reading elsewhere.

(The case is a copy.)

Found some information online, it's probably well-known (this is my first FJ badge, I'm a novice with these!) but I'll share it here for interest, hopefully it is correct!

"The initial regulations stated that the wreath of the badge was to be made of oxidized Neusilber. Neusilber, also known as nickel silver, is an alloy of brass and nickel, and does not in fact contain actual silver. Oxidizing nickel silver darkens it and gives it an antique look. The eagle was to be made of gilded brass.

The company Imme & Sohn from Berlin used a capital J instead of an I for their maker marks, as was often done in Germany at the time. No badges made from zinc have been found by this maker, which likely means that the company only produced these badges prior to 1941/42. Instead, the badges are all made with a brass eagle and a nickel silver wreath. One of the tell-tale signs of Imme badges is the fact that, contrary to regulations, the company left their wreaths silver instead of blackening them.

Imme had a close relationship with another Berlin-based company, Juncker. Imme badges can be found utilising Juncker eagles and/or wreaths. Unlike the Imme wreaths, the ones by Juncker are sometimes blackened.

There are two distinct eagle designs, both of which can be further subcategorised into two variants due to specific die flaws."