Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

cleaning belt and buckle

Article about: Hello ! I was wondering what would be the best product to use to clean the belt i just got myself today . And the buckle too . I search the forum and checked my book here and as far as i kno

Default cleaning belt and buckle

Hello !
    I was wondering what would be the best product to use to clean the belt i just got myself today . And the buckle too . I search the forum and checked my book here and as far as i know nothing is wrong with the buckle but again i am new to this so any input are welcome .
    As you can see on the pic someone must have clean the front of the buckle but in the back i can see some remain of a green paint ,would this buckle had the dark green paint or it's only dirt i see ?

Thanks

Frenchy
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture cleaning belt and buckle   cleaning belt and buckle  

cleaning belt and buckle   cleaning belt and buckle  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement cleaning belt and buckle
    P
    Many

Default Re: cleaning belt and buckle

Frenchy, it is all personal taste, I would not clean them myself, if the belt was very dry I would use saddle soap to soften the leather, but that is me.
    Ben

?

I wouldnt touch the buckle at all, but if you need to clean the belt, wipe the heaviest deposits of dirt with a damp cloth, thouroughly dry , then either use saddle soap to soften the leather or use black boot polish, leave it on without polishing for a few hours,then wipe it off with a dry cotton cloth, you can then apply a very thin coating of petroleum jelly ie vaseline and again wipe off all excess