Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here

Where, why were belt buckles denazified?

Article about: Hi, I'm new to belt buckles and just bought my first, which has had the swastika scrubbed. Some internet searching shows this is not uncommon, but can't find anything telling me when, where,

nephros
    ?

Default Where, why were belt buckles denazified?

Hi, I'm new to belt buckles and just bought my first, which has had the swastika scrubbed. Some internet searching shows this is not uncommon, but can't find anything telling me when, where, and why it was done. Any help would be appreciated.

2. # ADS

Default Re: Where, why were belt buckles denazified?

Hi Nephros , from what i know after the war , mainly in germany anything with the swastika on was a no no , so many people de nazified items , or hid them away , its still frowned apon today , cheers Raymond

?

Sometimes that was made by POWs, but mostly of them was postwar worn and due of forbidden swastika, they remove it. Also in Eastern front- buckles used as trophees by Soviet soldiers where all redesigned.
    Regards,
    Dimas

my Skype: warrelics

?

Hi Nephros,

I can imagine at least 3 scenarios:

1. partisans utilising captured equipment. It was not uncommon over here
    2. POWs. Believe that was compulsory to remove the national symbol while in captivity
    3. post 45 reutilisation. Those were hard times and they reutilise everything. It was common until 20 years ago to find farmers around here working with military uniforms readapted; boots, jackets, hats and belts. Helmets were more unlucky ...used for chicken food or to empty the black waters in the houses.

I hope my answer was useful to you

nephros
    ?

Thank you all, that was exactly what I wanted to know! IMO The fun in collecting is trying to put together the story with the piece.

nephros
    ?

one other question...