Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here
Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast

One soldier's story in pictures

Article about: H, What a great story thanks very much. Steve

?

Default Re: One soldier's story in pictures

Fantastic piece of history, and artfully curated to boot!
    Thank you for sharing your family with us HP!
    Best,
    Eddie

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement One soldier's story in pictures
    P
    Many

Very good thread HPL, I enjoyed your telling a lot.

I cant believe I missed this thread either! I am glad it has been revived !

Very enjoyable

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

A wonderful visit through history, glad your Grandfather survived the war. It seems he was wounded halfway through the operation Bagration offensive so in many ways, losing his leg was probably lucky for him as we all know what casualties the Soviet summer offensive of 1944 caused and what the chances of survivial were for those facing them.

Thanks for sharing!

To an extent this upsets me when I see great men, literally 80% of my German family were killed in action. I don't know if this indicates they were bad soldiers, unlucky or the odds they faced were indefencible. Regardless , thank you for showing the human aspect of a very brave German.

Quote by Wagriff View Post
    Did he survive long after the war? William
    Quote by ObKrieger View Post
    Could you please go into detail as to what he did after the war?
    He led a normal life, working in a low-level administrative job with the Police until his retirement. He died of cancer in the early nineties.

Quote by ObKrieger View Post
    Do you have anything that he was issued during his service?
    I have photographs and other paper items. You might also like this: https://www.warrelics.eu/forum/art-d...venance-59099/

Quote by Wagriff View Post