Steyer Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Stalingrad JG3 Shot Glass

Article about: by Glenn66 I think the shield might be a template for painting the unit insignia on aircraft and various squadron kit. BTW the shot glass this thread is based on sold for \\$293. \\$293 - Ohhh m

Default Stalingrad JG3 Shot Glass

Hi Guys,

I'm no expert in this area but this item has caught my eye and i'd like to read some opinions on it. It's claimed to be a trench art shot glass from the famous Jagdgeschwader 3 "Udet" ground dug from the site of Gumrak airfield in Stalingrad. I've bought from the seller before and so far have no reason to doubt he is anything other than a local Stalingrad digger.

The unit symbol appears to be a combination of the Jagdgeschwader 3 unit symbol and the symbol for the III Group.

Jagdgeschwader 3 unit symbol

III Group Symbol

Would it have been correct to combine the unit symbols like this?

Can anyone identify the shell case?

Last but not least, what would be a fair price to offer for something like this. For me it's a curio more than anything as i don't collect things like this usually.

Thanks in advance for any comments.

Glenn

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Stalingrad JG3 Shot Glass
    P
    Many

?

Default Re: Stalingrad JG3 Shot Glass

Glenn i'm very friendly with a veteran of JG 3 who fought at Stalingrad , i have the full history of the unit at Stralingrad. III Gruppe was heavily involved in combat operations over the City from both Gumrak and Pitomnik until they withdrew west when the kessel was formed , however 9 Staffel remained at Pitomnik as the Platzshutzstaffel until late December 1942.

Price wise for trench art who can say !!
    The gates of hell were opened and we accepted the invitation to enter" 26/880 Lance Sgt, Edward Dyke. 26th Bn Northumberland Fusiliers , ( 3rd Tyneside Irish )

1st July 1916

Thought shall be the harder , heart the keener,