Espenlaub Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Ssh39 Liner Type 1

Article about: Hi all- I cannot find another example of this type of liner on an SSH39 Apart from one on Soviet-helmets.com, and they are selling said helmet. My collector friend does not believe that thel

Default Ssh39 Liner Type 1

Hi all- I cannot find another example of this type of liner on an SSH39 Apart from one on Soviet-helmets.com, and they are selling said helmet. My collector friend does not believe that theliner is real since he hasn’t seen any other like this, but I believe it is real, as it resembles a type 1 early liner.

Here is a link to the helmet: Captured reissued ssh39 luftschutz helmet Hamburg

Also, is the luftschutz decal good? I am no expert on german items, but from examples I’ve seen, the swastika is silver, not black. But then again, I’m not at all close to being an expert on German items/helmets etc.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Ssh39 Liner Type 1
    P
    Many

Hello,

In my opinion the liner is good, Italian style pattern.

I cannot comment about the decal, since I'm not a collector of iii Reich militaria. But it seems pretty clear that the decal on this one was "restored" at some point, look also at the word luftschutz and the various black lines. So that could be the reason for the black swastika.

I think you want to buy it. My advice is to wait the opinion of a real expert with this one. It's not an ordinary ssh39, the decal was messed a bit, and there is the strange "us army 1944" stamp inside...

Best regards
    Gabriele

Thanks for the response. I talked to numerous Russian collectors and they have all said that it is a good example. My theory is that the US Army 1944 stamp is a capture mark, meaning that this helmet was used by the soviets, captured by the Germans, and then later captured by the Americans.

I ended up winning the helmet for IMO a very very reasonable price. I will post pics of it once I receive it.